2012 in Books

Now is the time to take a look at what the heck I read all last year! After the list there’s also the announcement of the WOW of the year, which took me by surprise in every way.

The goal this year was 70 books. According to Goodreads I got to 73, because GR doesn’t count rereads, but I do, so my own counting gives me the much better result of 81 (different) books.

Books read 2012

1. Maurice Leblanc: The Hollow Needle
2. Scott Lynch: Red Seas Under Red Skies x2
3. Julia Quinn: Ten Things I Love About You
4. Georgette Heyer: Frederica
5. Fyodor Dostoyevsky: Crime and Punishment
6. Franz Kafka: Metamorphosis
7. Mikhail Bulgakov: Master and Margarita
8. Ian McEwan: Atonement
9. Suzanne Collins: The Hunger Games
10. Elizabeth Gaskell: North and South x2
11. Julia Quinn: What Happens in London
12. Jane Austen: Persuasion
13. Georgette Heyer: The Spanish Bride
14. John le Carré: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
15. George Orwell: Animal Farm
16. Patricia Briggs: Moon Called
17. Neil Gaiman: American Gods
18. Gregory Maguire: Out of Oz
19. Suzanne Collins: Catching Fire
20. Suzanne Collins: Mockingjay
21. Richard Morgan: The Steel Remains
22. Stephanie Laurens: The Promise in a Kiss
23. Mary Balogh: First Comes Marriage
24. Scott Lynch: The Lies of Locke Lamora
25. Mary Balogh: Then Comes Seduction
26. Jane Aiken Hodge: The Private World of Georgette Heyer
27. Agatha Christie: Murder on the Orient Express
28. Mary Balogh: At Last Comes Loves
29. Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman: Good Omens
30. Terry Pratchett: Unseen Academicals
31. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: The Hound of the Baskervilles
32. Mary Balogh: Seducing an Angel
33. Paul Torday: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen
34. Loretta Chase: Lord Perfect
35. Mary Balogh: Dark Angel / Lord Carew’s Bride
36. Charles Dickens: Great Expectations x2
37. Douglas Hulick: Among Thieves
38. Mary Balogh: The Secret Pearl
39. Eleanor Herman: Sex with the Queen
40. Mary Balogh: A Secret Affair
41. Patricia Briggs: Cry Wolf
42. Maggie Stiefvater: Shiver
43. Robin McKinley: Sunshine
44. Brent Weeks: The Way of Shadows
45. Georgette Heyer: The Nonesuch
46. Leo Tolstoy: War and Peace
47. Mark Lawrence: Prince of Thorns
48. Elle Kushner: The Privilege of the Sword
49. J.B. Priestley: The Prince of Pleasure and His Regency
50. E.L. James: Fifty Shades of Grey
51. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
52. Glen Duncan: Talulla Rising
53. Kim Newman: Professor Moriarty and the Hound of the D’Urbervilles
54. Geoffrey Trease: Byron – A Poet Dangerous to Know
55. Mary Balogh: The Temporary Wife / A Promise of Spring
56. Charlotte Brontë: Jane Eyre
57. Martin Amis: Time’s Arrow
58. Andrzej Zaniewski: Rat
59. George Eliot: Middlemarch
60. William Makepeace Thackeray: Vanity Fair x2
61. Orhan Pamuk: White Castle
62. Anthony Trollope: Barchester Towers
63. Herta Müller: The Passport
64. Hannu Rajaniemi: The Fractal Prince
65. J. R. R. Tolkien: The Hobbit
66. Nick Foulkes: Dancing into Battle – A Social History of the Battle of Waterloo
67. Lewis Carroll: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
68. Anne Rice: The Wolf Gift
69. Toby Barlow: Sharp Teeth
70.  Jules Verne: The Castle of Carpathians
71. Kenneth Grahame: The Wind in the Willows
72. Georgette Heyer: An Infamous Army
73. A.A. Milne: Winnie the Pooh
74. Sgt Dan Mills: Sniper One
75. P.L. Travers: Mary Poppins
76. Charles Dickes: A Christmas Carol
77. Diana Wynne Jones: Howl’s Moving Castle
78. Leo Tolstoy: Anna Karenina
79. Cassandra Clare: City of Bones
80. Neil Gaiman: Neverwhere
81. F. Scott Fitzgerald: The Great Gatsby

It’s a good list, I think, yet it still feels like I read next to nothing. This is bookwormery for you – 80 books a year isn’t a proper pace at all! I’m terrified of 2013, since I will probably have less time to read…

On to the WOW of the year! WOW of the year is a book that I enjoyed very very much and took me by surprise. My rules say that it has to be an author I haven’t read before, so that unfortunately ruled The Fractal Prince by Hannu Rajaniemi out (although it was definitely one of the best books I read). Previous WOWs have been

  • 2009 – Scott Lynch (The Lies of Locke Lamora)
  • 2010 – Ellen Kushner (Privilege of the Sword)
  • 2011 – Mark Lawrence (Prince of Thorns)

This year was a little different, as I read very little new fantasy, and what I did read didn’t really enchant me. So, the WOW of 2012 is…

Sniper One by Sgt Dan Mills

I didn’t know I could enjoy a novel about war, let alone modern war. I do fine with 18th and 19th century warfare but I’ve always thought the modern stuff would be beyond me. Turns out it isn’t, not completely, and Mills’s book proved this to me. It’s engaging, exciting, and informative. A great read!

Other favourites this year, looking back at the list, have been the aforementioned The Fractal Prince by Rajaniemi, Time’s Arrow by Martin Amis, Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray, and Talulla Rising by Glen Duncan. All the four Russian classics (Crime and Punishment, Master and Margarita, War and Peace, Anna Karenina) also turned out to be excellent.

That be year 2012. Let us move on to 2013!

4 Comments

Filed under Annual

4 responses to “2012 in Books

  1. Well if it makes you feel any better I only read 79 books! 79!! So, miserable fail there for my 100 books in a year challenge and probably about 40 less books than I read last year. In my defence I did pick up a number of books this year that I didn’t finish because I wasn’t enjoying them and that is quite time consuming. Also, I have read a few books that aren’t on the list because I simply didn’t get round to reviewing them and on top of that I got involved in a number of readalongs and discussions. So, it’s all about what you enjoy really. I do love reading but this year I’ve also enjoyed much more of a connection with other book bloggers.
    Happy 2013.
    Lynn 😀

    • What, really? 40 less than last year? I still managed many more than last year… But then again, one can always take comfort in the thought that it was social life that interfered. 😛 There were a couple of books I didn’t finish – an Arsène Lupin book and The Crimson Petal and the White.
      I agree, it’s about enjoying it. I think I’m currently put a little off by books since I’ve been reading really intensively for about four months. Maybe it’s time for a break? Although I’ll have to pick Vanity Fair up really soon again. xD
      Happy 2013 to you, too! ❤

  2. Heiohoi! Miksi en ole tiennyt aiemmin tästä? Hyviä kirjoja olet näyttänyt lukevan, ja paljon!
    X

Leave a Reply

