Movie Review: The Dark Knight Rises

Actually, I saw this movie a week ago. Err. The fact that I’m managing a review only now should tell a lot.

It wasn’t a bad movie. I was dead tired and it was a morning show, and I was afraid I’d fall asleep. I didn’t. It was kind of cool. However, compared to the previous movies in the series, I’d place it between Batman Begins (which I didn’t like much) and The Dark Knight (which was awesome). It probed Mr Wayne’s head a lot without boring the audience to tears and keeping the action intact.

Probably the most-talked new character was Anne Hathaway’s Catwoman, who, in retrospect, was a rather unnecessary character and pretty much the token awesome woman. I liked the bits where she went thieving and fighting, and the goggles were brilliant, but in general there was little interest in her.

There was just too much in this movie. Too many characters, too many sub-plots, too much rambling. Hardy’s Bane was mostly hilarious (my friend was of the opinion that Hardy was wasted in the role because you can’t see his face except for about a couple of seconds), although I did like the character, and even more when we come towards the end.

Oh the twist. The twist. Wasn’t expecting that. Gods. That made the movie for me.

I suppose you could go see it. The movie benefits of a big screen and booming sound effects. (Am I getting old, or was did Tennispalatsi just have the sounds on really loud?) And it got a few tears.

Oh, and props for Joseph Gordon-Levitt! He did very well! I watched a whole lot of 3rd Rock From the Sun when I was little, and it keeps baffling me how little Tommy has grown up and gotten to be such a good actor.

So yes. A kind of a messy ending to the trilogy. Impressive-looking, but don’t expect too much.

The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

Director: Christopher Nolan

Starring: Christian Bale, Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Gary Oldman, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Marion Cotillard, Michael Cane

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

