Movie Review: Snow White and the Huntsman

One of the most anticipated films of this summer has been the second Snow White film this year, Snow White and the Huntsman. I went to see it.

Snow White and the Huntsman has a nice, epic-y fantasy twist to it. There’s impressive magic, good actors, and complications enough. All this is nicely balanced, so the two hours ten minutes doesn’t feel too long. The actors do a good job, even Kristen Stewart, of whom I was very suspicious (we learn here that no one should be judged based on Twilight, except maybe Mrs Meyer). It’s visually very impressive, and the costumes are wonderful (they are done by Colleen Atwood, so no wonder). The colours are not very bright, which usually appeals to me, but these darker shades work for me very well anyway.

Maybe it was just me, but I thought I detected lots of references to other films. There were several shots that were reminiscent of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, and the stag in the woods – you’ll know the scene when you see it – brought to mind Hayao Miyazaki’s Princess Mononoke. The evil queen also has a brother, both of them fair-haired, and my mind instantly jumped to Cersei and Jaime from A Song of Ice and Fire.

Then again, my friend said he didn’t see any of these things in the film, so it might have been just my head working overtime. In any case it doesn’t disturb the movie in the least, and I think it was good to see it. I sort of question the title though – the Huntsman is a much smaller part of the story than it implies and there would have been more surprises if the title had been different. More important than the Huntsman is the fight for justice and good, although admittedly those make a lot less attractive title; Snow White and the Bad Queen is a boring and used title, although it would be more descriptive.

Go see it! It’s a good fairytale for the ones of us who are either too embarrassed to go with the regular versions or just wish to get some fantasy into their system. I don’t think I’ll watch this again very soon, but there’s nothing wrong with it. Well, alright, two things that bothered me: religion, as I don’t like my fantasy mixed with real religion and even less when it’s for no apparent reason, and that there really was nothing funny. I’m not sayin there should be something funny in every film, but when you can see the jokes and don’t laugh and realise that no one else is laughing either there’s something wrong.

But it’s still good entertainment. And you can play actor spotting!

Snow White and the Huntsman (2012)

Director: Rupert Sanders

Starring: Kristen Stewart, Chris Hemsworth, Charlize Theron, Sam Claflin, Sam Spruell

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

