Summer Reading List 2012

Last summer my reading list contained ten books, of which I read three. That does not mean I only read three books, but I was kind of amused by my inability to stick to a list. So this year I have a list as well, and we’ll see if making it public helps me finish it. (Doubt it.) Summer naturally starts when school ends, which in this case is around mid-May (last hand-in date is 21st or something) and reading time ends when classes start again in the beginning of September. If I start a new book from the list a couple of days before I have to immerse myself into the horrid amount of classes I need to take in the autumn it still counts.

This year’s list is longer than last years. I tried to put all kinds of different books there, although I left out Romance because they are mostly impulse reading. I haven’t counted books that are coming out during the summer either, because there’s no guarantee when I can get to them. (Cf. the sad case with Anne Rice’s Wolf Gift)

SUMMER READING LIST 2012

Leo Tolstoy: War and Peace

China Miéville: The City and the City

Brandon Sanderson: Alloy of Law + The Way of Kings

Charles Dickens: Great Expectations

Graham Greene: Brighton Rock

Lev Grossman: The Magicians

Brent Weeks: The Night Angel Trilogy (Way of Shadows/Shadow’s Edge/Beyond the Shadows)

Frank Abagnale: Catch Me If You Can

Robin McKinley: Sunshine

So that would be thirteen books, assuming the Way of Kings comes in two parts. Right now I feel confident I can do this, despite work and changing moods, but then so I always do when I’m compiling these lists. But last year I didn’t take into account the different genres, so we’ll see if that helps!

What are you planning to read this summer?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Summer Reading List 2012

  1. Kay

    Everything. … No, seriously, I plan to finally get my teeth into Hal Duncan because it’s shameful I’ve owned a book for four years and still not read it. (Look who’s talking! I’ve had Edgar Wallace’s Bones in London since 2005.) There was this meme going round Finnish book blogs; commit to read every book in your shelves you haven’t, no taking out or buying new ones before you’re through. I’d be in trouble, considering about a fifth or a quarter of what I own is unopened…

    Unless my memory fails me, Abagnale’s book is fascinating. I think I read it in Finnish, a long time ago, and it was one of those books that aren’t better than the film, or worse, but just too different to compare the two.

    • I *might* manage to read at least most of the stuff I’ve got byt haven’t read before – but nah. Library exploring is too much fun! (And buying books, ofc.)

      Saw the Di Caprio movie, and heard the book goes deeper into his character and this would result in more interestingness. But conmen. How could that be uninteresting? ❤

  2. crap, summer is almost here, isn’t it? I suppose i should plow thru all the stuff that’s been sitting on and under my coffee table since January, the two space operas that Jean lent me, all the stuff I bought last week. . .

    I’m geeked about that Frank Abignale book as well! I adored that movie, would love to learn more about the real guy.

  3. You’ve got Brent Weeks in there!
    I love love LOVE The Night Angel Trilogy. Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

