Locke Lamora Read-Along: WEEK 1

Locke Lamora’s rule of thumb was this – a good confidence game took three months to plan, three weeks to rehearse, and three seconds to win or lose the victim’s trust forever.

I’ve been beyond excited about this all week. It hasn’t helped that it has been a busy week – and things will be getting busier – but with the power of Gentleman Bastards everything is better!

So, on to the starters!

1. If this is your first time reading The Lies of Locke Lamora, what do you think of it so far?  If this is a re-read for you, how does the book stand up to rereading?

Oh, this book just keeps kicking your arse every time you read it. Seriously. It’s always a pleasure to slip back to Camorr and examine the little details you didn’t really notice the couple last times. I say this a lot, but reading Locke Lamora is like going home – although to my great displeasure I must admit I’m not sure I’d last a week there.

2. At last count, I found three time lines:  Locke as as a 20-something adult, Locke meeting Father Chains for the first time, and Locke as a younger child in Shades Hill. How are you doing with the Flashback within a flashback style of introducing characters and the world?

I’m in disagreement here. I see three time lines as well, but different ones: Locke as a child, the preparation and “backstage” of the Salvara Game and the game itself, and I don’t find this confusing at all. I’m actually very surprised it didn’t bother me the first time either, since my English back then wasn’t much good and a lot of effort went to understanding sentence structure. On the other hand, a friend of mine just recently tried reading the book and told me she had trouble following it, and now reading it with this in mind I can sort of see how that could happen.

But short answer would be that I like this way of introducing a world, bit by bit and often in practice.

3. Speaking of the world, what do you think of Camorr and Lynch’s world building?

I love Camorr. Simple as that. It might be because of the relation to Venice that it feels so familiar and utterly comfortable. I love it how different cultures are presented through things like clothing (one day I will have a Fehrwight coat for winter!) and social customs.

If anyone is familiar enough with liquors to come up with a Ginger Scald recipe, I want to know!


4. Father Chains and the death offering. . .  quite the code of honor for thieves, isn’t it? What kind of person do you think Chains is going to mold Locke into? 

I think the business with the death offering is supposed to teach Locke responsibility and that there are always consequences.

5. It’s been a while since I read this, and I’d forgotten how much of the beginning of the book is pure set up, for the characters, the plot, and the world. Generally speaking, do you prefer set up and world building done this way, or do you prefer to be thrown into the deep end with what’s happening?

I like the deep end. However, I think Lynch managed to balance on the line of explaining things in advance and just dropping colourful details in the midst of conversation. I think it’s also nice to have the longer descriptions in their own… subchapters? What are they called? But I’m sure you know what I mean. Too lengthy descriptions tend to bore me.

6. If you’ve already started attempting to pick the pockets of your family members (or even thought about it!) raise your hand.

I’m not cut out to be a pickpocket, but I just had a job interview in a big corporate building and had to sit in the waiting area for some time. Found myself thinking how it could be entered without anyone’s permission. (There were reception people, ID slips indicating a visitor’s host, lift cards etc.)

Now the book is started, and I’m getting more and more excited. I’ll finish with a quote from Father Chains that I had not paid proper attention to before but tickled my fancy.

Because, Locke Lamora, some day you’re going to dine with barons and counts and dukes. You’re going to dine with merchants and admirals and generals and ladies of every sort! And when you do… When you do, those poor idiots won’t have any idea that they’re really dining with a thief!

10 Comments

Filed under Read-Along

10 responses to “Locke Lamora Read-Along: WEEK 1

  1. I’m reading it for the first time, as well as it being my first read-along. I have a feeling I’ll be re-reading it more than once, and that I’ll be finding minor details I missed every time! Thoroughly enjoying it so far.

  2. Pingback: Lies of Locke Lamora read along, part ONE « the Little Red Reviewer

  3. There are such a lot of quotable lines in this book! Good job that you clarified your Fehrwight coat was for winter! Don’t know what to make of the Ginger Scald – sounds hair raising – might like some of the wine though!
    Lynn 😀

  4. “reading Locke Lamora is like going home”

    I feel the same exact way. Reading this book again is like getting to spend a weekend with my favorite people. Granted, they aren’t people i can bring home to dinner, but they are oh so much fun to go drinking with! Sign me up for a Ginger Scald, I LOVE ginger, especially that burning feeling that gives you the chills.

    I brought up the Death Offering thing because I am greatly appreciate of consequences. there is nothing that pisses me off in fantasy than when people do bad things and there is no risk involved. What Locke is doing is risky. I’m not talking about how he might get arrested or someone might beat him up, I’m talking about he might get innocent people killed, and that is the risk. When I say “i like things expensive”, this is exactly what I’m talking about. If you’re interested in the risk, you better be able to pay the price. You’ve read this before, so you know how important it is later.

    • Oh, to go out drinking with the Gentleman Bastards! What fun that would be! And I seriously entertain the idea of training the staff of my favourite bar to make me Ginger Scalds. Would just the thing for cold winter nights!

      I think consequences could be a rising thing in the genre? I think there have been more of those in recent fantasy. (If you like Terry Pratchett and for some reason haven’t read Going Postal, you should. There is a conman in there~)

  5. Pingback: The Lies of Locke Lamora Part I « Darkcargo

  6. Good thinking about the Ginger Scald! 🙂 I’d love to know the recipe as well.
    (maybe if Mr. Lynch stops by he can help with that?)

  7. I also got a bit confused by the flashbacks the first time, maybe my English wasn’t so good either, but it’s always a bit unsettling to try to figure a character when he keeps changing the scenery.
    Now a few months later, I realize it was a great way to start… I wish everyone would see it! I totally feel like re-reading it again now!

  8. Ooooh… a ginger scald recipe would be fantastic! Let me know if anyone comes up with one!

Leave a Reply

