Prologue

Hello, world of blogs!

My name is Veera, often known online as Wil, with which I prefer to sign my posts. I’ve had a blog on blogspot for a couple of years – mostly writing for myself – but I realised how erratic I’ve been with both posting and the topics, and so decided I would create this blog right here. The idea is that I’ll post once or twice a month (I’m not sure yet of how much I’ll have to say…) and rave about my number one obsession.

Books.

Because of the topic of this blog, I feel it might be nice for the potential readers to know what kind of books I read. The bulk of what I read is fantasy. That’s what I mostly own. Aside from that, because I am an English Philology student with a focus on literature, I tend to read English classics, and now that I’ve started my minor in Comparative Literature I hope to read other classics as well. My guilty pleasure, when it comes to books, is Regency romance. I’m a fan of Jane Austen’s, and since the wonderful Miss Austen only wrote six novels, at times there arises the need to read more.

Related to my major, I also have some books on linguistics, language history, English history and culture…

I will end this post with short list of authors and books that I would count as favourites. I’ll be back at the end of the month for my first actual post!

Authors

Jane Austen

Oscar Wilde

Scott Lynch

Ellen Kushner

Books

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Swordspoint (and the other Riverside stories) by Ellen Kushner

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow

Until September 30th!

~Wil

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

