Republic of Thieves Read Along – Week 1

It is time for the read-along, and I’m running late! I’m always done with my reread, as I want to be done before next weekend and the Brighton meet-up, so bear with me – I have my book next to me so I can check what’s happened and when, as I don’t know this one as well as the previous ones yet. Let’s get on with the questions, shall we?

(Short note: These read-along posts will end up looking way different from those I wrote last year, mostly because I haven’t read with an eye out for quotations. I’m sad not to be able to do it that way again, but perhaps in the future.)

We get to reminisce with several old friends in this section – Calo, Galdo, Chains. How did you like this? Bitter sweet or happy dance?

Happy dance! Without a doubt a happy dance! Oh, how I missed the twins and Chains! The Sanzas are even more annoying than I remember them – or ever conceived them – and Chains is just himself, with a tad more unsolved mystery, which drives me up the walls. I’m not kidding. I want to know more about him.

Finally, the infamous Sabetha makes a physical appearance, albeit in Locke’s reminisces. What are your impressions? How do you think the romance, if there is to be one, will play out?

I’m not going to comment much on this, as my impressions have formed on basis of the book as a whole, and although I’m pretty sure it won’t wreck havoc on anyone’s perception of her, I’d rather be simple. Young Sabetha is all edges and sharp words, which makes me apprehensive of her: the only time she softens is when she takes the trio of misfits to the hanging, and even that doesn’t change my attitude towards her. But she is clever, oh so clever, and thinks extremely well on her feet. She has my respect, if not my affection.

After trying absolutely everything to save Locke, Jean still won’t give up. What did you think of that little pep talk he gave Locke concerning Patience’s offer of healing?

I was actually expecting more mourning on his part. Or rather hoped for it. But of course, Jean is practical and rather throws himself to work than wallows in his feelings – the very opposite of Locke, actually. We saw that in Red Seas, and we see it here. When he brings up Ezri in Lashain, well, that got me in tears. Actually, I’ll quote that here, just so I’m not the only one crying:

What are you going to tell the woman I loved? The woman who burned so you could have the slightest chance in hell of even being here in the first place? If I can get up and live with that every gods-damned day, then so can you, you son of a bitch.” (98)

Gods damn you, Jean Tannen. You and your bloody big heart.

Locke has a few caveats to working for the Bondsmage. Wise or just Locke grasping for some control over his life? What would you ask Patience?

I’d say it’s wise. Locke if someone knows about semantics, a feature that particularly appeals to me, and he knows you don’t make deals with this kind of people without making absolutely sure both sides know what is implied, what is offered, what is off the table. As to what I would ask of Patience, I don’t know. Largely the same things as Locke, and he got a couple that I wouldn’t have thought of.

At the end of this section, we see that all is not as Patience laid it out. How much do you think Patience knows of the plot to off Locke and Jean? Do you see it interfering in the rigged election?

This is Locke and Jean. If something can interfere with their life and plans and everything included, it will.

 

So that’s it for this week! I apologise for being short and saying very little, but I hope that as we get on I will have more to say and more time to write it down in a coherent, semi-intelligent fashion!

1 Comment

Filed under Read-Along

One response to “Republic of Thieves Read Along – Week 1

  1. Firstly, isn’t Jean just adorable! You simply have to love him and his persistence.
    I agree about Sabetha – I can’t make my mind up about her at all and I think you’ve phrased it really well. She’s very clever but I’m not sure that I love her (at the moment any way).
    The sentence about Ezri was very touching – it almost made me spill a tear. Almost.
    Lynn :D

Leave a Reply

