Thieves prosper again!

Hi everyone!

I’m sick and therefore excused from tonight’s party, which means I have the time to let you know that I got my hands on The Republic of Thieves two days ago and finished it last night!

Republic of ThievesI’m not going to into details here – suffice to say there were lots of things that required a brief break to absorb and then it took another moment to squeal before getting back to reading. There’s also the fact that because of school and social obligations, I speed-read it through in two sessions, all put together 16 hours of intense reading. Towards the end I lost track of details, but am now working my way through at a slower pace, looking around and musing at the details and their implications and speculating about what is to come. I missed Locke and Jean. So much.

Another reason, the one that has nothing to do with lack of sleep, for rereading is this: there is going to be a read-along! Sign up for it, if you feel like talking about these things – I think this is going to be an excellent opportunity to get my thoughts about the book into order! Find out more about the read-along in, for example, here!

I will at some point try and collect some thoughts that I had during and in the middle of the first read – actually, such a list exists, because I wrote one during spare moments at school. It’s already up on tumblr, but I’ll post it here sometime, perhaps after the read-along.

Can we declare this month Republic of Thieves month? Or the next 30 days? Because you’re unlikely to get much else out of me! My housemates were duly informed that I would be unsociable, and especially one of them has been very understanding – whenever I emerged to get tea or to eat or to just have a polite chat with him, he would first ask how it was going and then usher me back into my room, telling me to “go read!” I wanted to share this because it was extremely sweet of him not to mind my unsociableness and then listen to my commentary.

I will now get back on tumblr and the appropriate tags – the conversation is slowly starting to flow, as more people finish the book – and will be back later this month to discuss the book in earnest!

Oh, and if anyone is interested in what books I’ve read since the last monthly post, let me know! I can at the very least put up a list of the books, even if I have no prepared commentary on them!

See you again soon, guys!

3 Comments

Filed under Events, News and Announcements

3 responses to “Thieves prosper again!

  1. Yes, – October is the month of RoT.
    Lynn :D

  2. thrilled to have you along for the read along! you know it’s gonna be epic. and brilliant. and scads of fucking fun!

  3. Agreed. I haven’t read it yet. Once I saw the readalong signup, I’ve been trying very very hard to be patient and not read it before it’s time. :)

Leave a Reply

